Ihaonline logo bug


The Iowa Rural Health Telecommunications Program (IRHTP) is a joint effort consisting of a consortium of 85 Iowa rural and urban hospitals, two South Dakota hospitals, one Nebraska hospital, the Iowa Hospital Association (IHA) and the Iowa Communications Network (ICN) with the purpose to connect willing Iowa hospitals to a dedicated broadband fiber network using existing ICN infrastructure.

In May of 2007, IHA submitted the IRHTP proposal on behalf of Iowa hospitals to the Federal Communications Commission. The proposal was to provide last mile fiber connections for members of the consortium by linking them to the closest appropriate ICN Point of Presence with one gigabit of ethernet electronics.

IHA has and will continue to have responsibility for the general project administration and management which includes:

  • Meeting logistics for the IRHTP Board of Directors
  • Serve as the project coordinator for the IRHTP
    • Management of the administrative aspects of the approved network
    • Complete and submit program forms and supporting documentation
    • USAC payment management
    • Serve as the primary point of contact for the IRHTP
    • Communicate any requests and requirements to participating entities
    • Assure administrative project documentation
    • Maintain project files
    • Prepare for any auditing activities

For more information, contact Corey Martin at IHA via email or phone at 515-283-9309. 
For billing and invoicing questions please contact Stephanie Dabney at IHA. 


As of February 16, 2018

  • Funding dollars of FY14 have been approved and will be allocated to facilities in late February and early March of 2018.
  • Funding dollars for FY15 and FY16 are being reviewed by IRHTP and ICN staff and will be submitted to USAC for reimbursement in March of 2018.
  • New technology upgrades to the IRHTP infrastructure were approved by the IRHTP Board of Directors. The vendor contract and USAC request for funding will be completed in March of 2018.
  • ​A quarterly IRHTP newsletter has been created as a communications tool for our members.  Look for it in April of 2018. If you need your name added to the mailing list, please email Corey Martin.

Board Members

Scott Curtis, Administrator, Kossuth Regional Health Center
Steve Baumert, President and CEO, Methodist Jennie Edmundson
James Burkett, Director of Technology Services, Avera McKennan Hospital and University Health Center
Lee Carmen, VP of Information Services, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Jeff Cash, Senior VP and CIO, Mercy Medical Center – Cedar Rapids
Fred Eastman, Telehealth Technology Manager, Mercy Health Network
Robert Frieden, VP of Info Services and CIO, Genesis Health System
Joe LeValley, SVP, Mercy Medical Center – Des Moines
Mike Myers, CEO, Veterans Memorial Hospital
Kirk Norris, President and CEO, Iowa Hospital Association
Clarence Williams, Director of Telehealth, Mercy Health Network
Daryl Bouma, Chief Technology Officer, Sanford Health