Hospital Board and Trustee Certification Program

IHA has designed the Hospital Board Certification program to help hospitals use governance best practices, promote the coordination of care and the best use of resources. In turn, this demonstrates to lawmakers, regulators, physicians, employees, the business community and other community stakeholders that Iowa hospitals:

  • Understand and embrace the need for governance accountability.
  • Govern according to a standard of excellence.
  • Are willing to formally certify their adherence to governance best practices.
  • Are committed to coordination of resources in their communities.
  • Embrace community accountability and transparency.
  • Structure their community benefit and outreach programs to meet identified community needs.
  • Utilize data from IHA to identify and address areas of need, especially regarding the uninsured and underinsured.
  • Utilize performance data to identify opportunities for improvement and monitor progress that improves quality and safety.
  • Integrate local health efforts with state programs.

Certified trustees are recognized each year at the IHA Governance Forum.

IHA-Board-Certification symbol

Certified hospital or system boards

Hospitals and health systems can register their entire board to complete the Hospital Board Certification Program.. Three levels of board certification are recognized:

  • One Star – 40-69% of board members are certified.
  •  Two Stars – 70-99% of board members are certified.
  •  Three Stars – All board members are certified.

Trustee resource videos

The Iowa Hospital Association has several trustee resource videos included in the Media Store. Visit that section HERE.

Another group of Iowa hospital trustees has achieved new levels of governance education and effectiveness through the Iowa Hospital Association's Board Certification Program. Here is the Class of 2021!

One-star board participation

(40-69% participation)

  • Clarke County Hospital
  • Decatur County Hospital
  • Great River Medical Center
  • Madison County Health Care System
  • Monroe County Hospital & Clinics
  • UnityPoint Health-Grinnell Regional Medical Center

Two-star board participation

(70-99% participation)

  • Dallas County Hospital
  • Great River Health
  • MercyOne Newton Medical Center
  • Montgomery County Memorial Hospital
  • Story County Medical Center
  • Van Diest Medical Center

Three-star board participation

(100% participation)

  • Adair County Health System
  • Clarinda Regional Health Center
  • Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Greene County Medical Center
  • Henry County Health Center
  • Lucas County Health Center
  • Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital

New certified trustees

  • Adam Otto, MercyOne Newton Medical Center
  • Debby Pence, MercyOne Newton Medical Center
  • Denise Elefson, Decatur County Hospital
  • Gregg Sharp, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Henry Bevel, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Jean Walker, Madison County Health Care System
  • Jeff Clark, Clarinda Regional Health Center
  • Jill Bergstrom, Montgomery County Memorial Hospital
  • Kate Neese, Greene County Medical Center
  • Lauren Graham, UnityPoint Health-Grinnell Regional Medical Center
  • Mark Allen, MercyOne Newton Medical Center
  • Mary Wertzberger, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Michael Byl, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Peggy Brown, UnityPoint Health-Grinnell Regional Medical Center
  • Russell Buchanan, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Taylor Peterson, Van Diest Medical Center

Trustees maintaining certification

  • Alissa McGinnis, Shenandoah Medical Center
  • Andrew Muth, VA Central IA Health Care System-DSM
  • Ann Menke, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Ann Stocker, Monroe County Hospital & Clinics
  • Beth Swenson, Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • Bill Malcom, Great River Health
  • Brad Heemstra, Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • Bryan Whipp, Clarinda Regional Health Center
  • Carla Huebner, VA Central IA Health Care System-DSM
  • Carmen Heaton, Henry County Health Center
  • Cathy Simon, Madison County Health Care System
  • Dale Fulk, Clarinda Regional Health Center
  • Daniel Wiedemeier, Great River Health
  • Darrel Colson, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Dave Poland, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • David Anderson, Story County Medical Center
  • Deanna Barr, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Elizabeth Hertz, Story County Medical Center
  • Emma Chance, Methodist Jennie Edmundson
  • Gail Graham, VA Central IA Health Care System-DSM
  • Jacque Mohs, Madison County Health Care System
  • Jeff King, MercyOne Newton Medical Center
  • JoAn Headington, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • JoAnn Lampe, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Joelle Miner, Dallas County Hospital
  • John McKillip, Great River Health
  • Joseph Tripp-Rieks, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Julie Ann Connolly, Dallas County Hospital
  • Kalyana Sundaram, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Karen Collins, Methodist Jennie Edmundson
  • Ken McCuskey, Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • Kyle Christianson, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Lance Horbach, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Lisa Kobernusz, Boone County Hospital
  • Lois Houghtaling, Adair County Health System
  • Marc Meyer, Dallas County Hospital
  • Marsha McClintock, Dallas County Hospital
  • Mary Kitchell, Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • Mary Laborde, Dallas County Hospital
  • Matt Garcia, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Matt Wenzel, Great River Health
  • Mike Miller, Lucas County Health Center
  • Natalie McGee, Lucas County Health Center
  • Neal Dodd, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Pam Wiggins, Adair County Health System
  • Pamela Delagardelle, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Randy Westman, Lucas County Health Center
  • Robert Buckley, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Robert Engberg, Great River Health
  • Robert Marsh, Clarinda Regional Health Center
  • Roberta Knutson, Van Diest Medical Center
  • Sarah Buck, Mary Greeley Medical Center
  • Shannon Rudolph Umthum, VA Central IA Health Care System-DSM
  • Shari Carlson, Madison County Health Care System
  • Sheri Frost, Decatur County Hospital
  • Sr. Maurita Soukup, MercyOne Siouxland Medical Center
  • Stacey Bentley, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Steven Ullestad, UnityPoint Health-Allen Hospital
  • Sue Frazier, Lucas County Health Center
  • Teresa Woods, Clarke County Hospital
  • Tray Wade, EveryStep Hospice
  • Vicki Stephenson, Fort Madison Community Hospital
  • Willard Olesen, Adair County Health System

Share this:

Become a hospital advocate. Sign up for IHA Action Alerts.

Click here